Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is a group of visionary leaders who have demonstrated a commitment to Waldorf education and San Francisco Waldorf School. Trustees offer a diversity of expertise and experience in service to the school.

The Board is responsible for the school's long-term fiscal, legal, and structural health and shares governing responsibilities with the College of Teachers and the Administrative Director. The school community is encouraged to attend monthly Board of Trustees meetings. The Board can be reached at

Laura Ambroseno

Craig Appel

Administrative Director

Jane Baughman

John Burket

Biology Teacher

Joan Caldarera

Humanities Teacher, 12th Grade Sponsor

Madhulika Chambers

Danielle Dignan

Stephen Goldmann

Ghita Harris-Newton

Sami Kudsi


Heidi Schwarzenbach

Nursery Program Director

Melissa Smith

James Stearns


Tzaddi Thompson

Vice President

Carina Trowbridge

William Wolcott